Guilty Secret

445455563_8220615793_q

Another non-winning Ad Hoc Flash Fiction entry from last week! Thought I would share it here…

Late again. She swerved into the driveway, stopping sharply. She scanned her appearance in the mirror for anything out of place, smoothed her hair and took a deep breath. Affecting what she hoped would pass for an air of nonchalance, she walked slowly into the house.

She needn’t have bothered; he was engrossed in a sport documentary and barely registered her entrance. Relieved, she hung up her coat.

‘I was going to order a takeaway,’ he said without looking at her. ‘You’ve had a hard day. Chinese okay?’

‘Yeah, sure. That sounds nice. Shall I fetch it?’

‘No, I’ll go. You sit down.’

She leaned back against the soft cushions and closed her eyes, relaxing for the first time that day. The bang of the front door woke her with a jolt.

‘I know your secret.’

She froze; speechless. He tossed the empty jelly bean packet at her and winked.

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/7259030@N07/445455563″>jely bellies</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

4 thoughts on “Guilty Secret

  1. I should give up on it! I have entered many times now and never get anywhere! The main thing for me is that I often use it as a prompt to develop something longer, but I don’t think you seem to struggle for inspiration as much as I can do. I’ll look out for you there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

