A Trip to the Zoo

“Ah-ha!” Bernard exclaimed excitedly; his quivering finger pointing at the disappearing rear-end in the bushes.

Candice struggled to summon up the same level of enthusiasm for the spiky egg-laying mammals; Bernard had talked of little else since their meeting at the gate. Dolores had been right to ask what sort of man would suggest the zoo for a first date.

“Echidnas are endangered you know. Folk hunt them for food in New Guinea; can you believe that?”

“Great, shall we move on somewhere else now Bernard?”

His online profile had seemed so…normal. Interested in animals and birds; he’d sounded sweet, and let’s face it, he was easy on the eye too. Just once though, couldn’t she meet an attractive man who didn’t have something wrong with him?

Keith had been drop-dead gorgeous, but his insistence on only eating orange-coloured foods had begun to grate. Living with a man who survived on carrots, Wotsits and spaghetti hoops was not Candice’s idea of what she wanted for her future. Mike had seemed lovely too, but his obsession with collecting Star Wars memorabilia was all-consuming. No girl should be expected to live with a full-sized Storm Trooper in the bedroom.

“Oh, Bernard, there’s a cafe over there. Perhaps we could go for a coffee?”

“Quick Candice. Reptiles and amphibians are this way,” he said completely ignoring her suggestion.

Sighing, Candice trailed behind him into the dark building. The date was going from bad to worse; she hoped he wasn’t about to make her look at snakes. Under no circumstances would she go near one she resolved to herself. Very soon, the humid atmosphere in the reptile house became stifling. Wishing for the outdoors again, Candice looked around for the exit, but was accosted by Bernard.

“Xenopus toads! Yes, my favourites,” he shouted.

Zoos were definitely off her list of future first date venues.

This story is in response to the 26 sentence idea, where the first sentence starts with the letter A, the next with B and so on. I was inspired by this story written by Nik Eveleigh:

https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/25494579/posts/970932481

Let me know what you think!

14 thoughts on “A Trip to the Zoo

  1. Oh Rebecca this is so clever – I love it! And I had no idea this is what you were doing, I just thought it was an entertaining story about the perils of online dating, and that the star wars collection was particularly believable. Such a fun idea – I want to do one myself now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brilliant! I had no idea until I read your nod to my original story (thank you!) that this was your own similar experiment! It reads perfectly – funny characters, great idea for a story and made me laugh more than once. Really good job – far better than mine if I may be so bold 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haven’t checked it yet but I will do so this evening. The ultra was without doubt the hardest thing I’ve ever done (blog post to follow I suspect!) but I managed 5hr23min which I was thrilled with. Legs coming back to life today at least – I turned 43 today and I only now feel about 68 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow happy birthday! And congratulations on finishing, brilliant achievement-now you’ve done it once, no need to repeat the experience any time soon! My husband has done a couple of ultras and I’m very glad he has no plans to run further than a marathon in near future. Enjoy the rest of your day 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yay – so your husband is proof that there is hope for me to return to some sort of normal distance! Thanks – day has been lovely so far but am looking forward to the couple of hours I get once the kids have gone to bed! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  3. This was so much fun to read! First date nightmares are always excellent story material. 😉 I didn’t even notice the A-Z structure until you mentioned it, it flowed so smoothly. (I’m the one who gave that idea to Nik – glad you enjoyed it too!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

